Shorts & a Movie

It was Sunday morning and I was standing in my closet wondering what to wear.  I was taking my mom and sister to see a film, “Bernie”, downtown and absolutely nothing in my closet was right.

Then I spied the burgundy, lace shorts I bought at Kohl’s last fall and it all came together.  This is a vest I bought at Forever 21 a couple of months ago and my trusty, neutral Calvin Klein open-toed slingbacks, bought on sale four years ago, which make my legs look a mile long.

I hesitated buying these shorts because I couldn’t think of where/how I’d wear them.  But almost any time jeans and a T-shirt are an option, so are these shorts and, in this Texas heat, they’re turning out to be a very wise purchase indeed.  Well worth the sartorial risk.

PS: Go see “Bernie”!  It’s based on a murder that happened in Carthage, Texas in the mid-90s and features a very restrained and nuanced performance from Jack Black.  (No, really!)  It also stars Matthew McConaughey and a host of townspeople from Carthage who will make you guffaw – out loud! – in the theater.

About Felicia Biggins

I'm a fashion blogger and owner of The New Black, a personal styling business, in Austin TX. Follow me on Twitter: @fbigg.
This entry was posted in Daily outfits and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Shorts & a Movie

  1. Erin says:

    Sigh. I’ve been sort of anti-shorts & high heels, but I feel like this is another thing you may convert me on.

    • Bwahahahaha! You’ve discovered my evil plan, Erin.

      Shorts and heels, like other wardrobe combos, have to be proportionate. Shorts that are too short with heels that are too high will make you look as if you work a pole for a living. Not that I have anything against those who do, but I’m guessing it’s not the look you’re after.

      Bermuda shorts can safely be worn with ankle boots, flats or heels. This pair hits about mid-thigh and my heels are 3″. I wouldn’t go any higher than that with these shorts but they work really with flats. Ankle boots…I’d have to eyeball it.

  2. You are such a friggin rock star. Always perfect!

    And yes. I saw Bernie opening weekend. LOVED IT TO PIECES. It was fantastic!

    • Oh, I’m glad you saw it! I like Jack Black but even a few people I know who really DON’T like his acting thought he did a fantastic job.

      And thanks for the kudos on my shorts!

Leave a Reply

