Boobs or Legs – Not Both

I have written before about following “the fashion rules” – dressing appropriately for your age, not wearing white after Labor Day – and my feelings about “the rules” are that we should make our own. When it comes to how you present yourself to the world, you’re The Decider!  (please forgive the GW Bushism)

Ah, but last night I was downtown last night with friends and came face to face with someone who shouldn’t have been The Decider.  I’m going to apologize now for not snapping a pic but, as she was a mere 10 feet away from me, it would’ve been obvious.  Also, I was too distracted to even think about pulling out my phone to take one.

This woman had a great figure.  And her skin was gorgeous and dewy in that way you don’t appreciate when you have it and miss horribly after your 30th birthday.  She was a very attractive woman.

Now, for her “outfit”: super short, skin tight, pink crop top and hot pants that were at least a size too small.  I could see all her business.  In fact, dressed as she was, it looked like showing the public her business was her business.  In my defense, this wasn’t one of my old lady moments, where I make snap judgements on someone’s appearance based on my oddly Puritan sense of decorum.  I do have those moments; this just wasn’t one of them.

But, as she sauntered by I was thinking she was breaking a rule that probably shouldn’t be broken: pick one part of your body to show off and cover up the rest.  Boobs or legs, not both.

What would I have done differently?  Go up a size (or two) on the hot pants and wear them with a peasant blouse or trapeze top.  Or wear the super short, skin tight, pink crop top with silky, wide-leg “pajama” pants or even a pencil skirt.  Because in addition to displaying far too much, the proportions were all wrong.

But I still stand by my philosophy that we each get to decide how the rest of the world sees us.  I just wish I’d seen a little less of this woman.

About Felicia Biggins

I'm a fashion blogger and owner of The New Black, a personal styling business, in Austin TX. Follow me on Twitter: @fbigg.
This entry was posted in IMHO and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Boobs or Legs – Not Both

  1. Nicely put. After all, there is nothing sexier than someone who uses their mind. A well thought out look expresses that to some extent.

    • I completely agree. But I also understand wanting to flaunt one’s figure and she was young and gorgeous. Totally get it. But it wasn’t at all flattering and, if nothing else, I’d want my outfit to be flattering!

  2. Agree 100% with Maggie.

    And man, it’s always bad when you shouldn’t stare because you’re so close but you can’t help it because you’re so close.

    Ewww…

    • I figured she WANTED people to stare or she wouldn’t have had all her goodies on display, so I didn’t feel the slightest bit guilty about gawking.

      Whipping out the phone to take a picture from 5 feet away seemed like crossing a line, though.

Leave a Reply

