In Defense of Baggy Jeans

I had to giggle the other day when I read blog post after blog post and Tweet after Tweet excoriating Jennifer Aniston for wearing baggy jeans in an airport.  You’d think she’d just stolen someone’s husband…

When I saw the pictures and read that she was on a cross-country, transatlantic flight to Paris, my thought was “they look comfortable”.  And check out the rest of her outfit – navy blazer, simple white T-shirt, white sneakers, elegant jewelry, beautiful scarf and her always present aviators.  She looks better than 99% of the people you see in airports.  And you know that’s not an exaggeration.

Are these super baggy jeans sexy?  I’m sure most men would say not so much.  They completely obscure her figure (from the waist down, anyway), which does seem a little sinful for one whose figure is so fit.  But did she really deserve all those “what was she thinking?!” posts and Tweets?  Hardly.

In support of baggy (if not quite so baggy) jeans, I’m sporting my own baggies today.  Lands End cargos!  I love these pants.  I could smuggle contraband without ever using any of the pockets.  Comfortable?  Oh, God, yes.

I balance the fullness of the pants by wearing this simple, striped T-shirt from the Gap.  And, because leopard goes with everything, my leopard print flats.

Keep rocking your baggy jeans, Jen Aniston!  I’ve got your back.

About Felicia Biggins

I'm a fashion blogger and owner of The New Black, a personal styling business, in Austin TX. Follow me on Twitter: @fbigg.
This entry was posted in Daily outfits, Fashion News and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

