Spring/Summer Trend: Brightly Colored Pants

When I first saw a pair of colored jeans earlier this year in spring/summer editorials, I wanted a pair.  But wanting a pair and finding a pair in a color I liked, in a cut that was flattering and in my size proved to be not such an easy task.  I looked several places – the Gap, Nordstrom, Old Navy – but no joy.

I found these at JC Penney – $25.  They’re not jeans, but cropped trousers.  I love the vibrant color!  I have worn them with a subtly colored, patterned blouse and, this morning, paired them with an equally vibrant yellow blouse.  It worked but, between us, it was too much color for me today.  Or, at least it was too much color for me at 6am when I got dressed.  I actually appeared to be vibrating.  And this was before coffee.

Instead, I brought the whole look down a few notches with this white, Old Navy tank and DKNY jacket and, for a little pop of color, my $10 fuchsia necklace from Target.  My shoes are metallic, Calvin Klein wedges.

If you’re tempted to try colored jeans, pants or skirts but are intimidated, try pairing the very bright color with neutrals.  On days when I want to vibrate, I will wear these with yellow, orange, red, fuchsia, green…and sunglasses.

About Felicia Biggins

I'm a fashion blogger and owner of The New Black, a personal styling business, in Austin TX. Follow me on Twitter: @fbigg.
This entry was posted in Daily outfits, Trends and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

