Adventures in Landscaping

When I started this blog I expected the most difficult aspect would be coming up with content.  Coming up with content – even just twice a week – is tough, no question.

Even tougher is the self-imposed pressure to be stylish every day and I have to admit I didn’t see that particular challenge coming. Looking my best is important to me and I’ve said as much before, often even, here.  And I’m sure there are people who effortlessly pull that off.  But, between us, some days just getting out of the house fully-clothed is the best I can do.

Today is one of those days.  I’ve been working on a landscaping project in my yard for the past three evenings.  My back is sore, my hands are tired, and I have fire ant bites and cactus pricks all over my arms.  To add insult to injury, my neck is slightly sunburned (yep, brown-skinned folks get sunburned, too).  The last thing I was capable of doing when I dragged my sore, tired, bitten, pricked and slightly sunburned self out of bed this morning was figure out what to wear.

My “secret” weapon?  Jeans.  My favorite Lands End ankle jeans, a vest from Forever 21 and black patent and fabric Coach wedges will get me through this day.  Maybe today’s outfit isn’t so inventive or creative or particularly stylish.  But I’m presentable and street legal.  Some days that’s enough.

About Felicia Biggins

I'm a fashion blogger and owner of The New Black, a personal styling business, in Austin TX. Follow me on Twitter: @fbigg.
This entry was posted in Daily outfits and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Adventures in Landscaping

  1. Erin says:

    That vest is really cute. And you do look stylish and pulled together!

    • Thanks, Erin. Classic basics + fab shoes = easy style you don’t have to think about. And this morning I *really* needed easy.

      • Erin says:

        I hear you. I’m wearing some Forever 21 today myself with cowboy boots. I love these boots – they were used, $25 at an antique fair, and people flip out over them.

        • Don’t you love finding those inexpensive items that turn out to be the biggest hits in your wardrobe?

          Also: How did I not know Forever 21 has shoes and boots! Off to the website I go…

  2. Only you could look hot doing yard work.

    I do miss having a yard to work in. But totally forgot about all that soreness and other fun stuff that comes with it.

Leave a Reply

