The Things You See in a Wine Bar…

I’ve written once before about age appropriate dressing and my thoughts thereof.  Well, over the weekend I was at my favorite home away from home wine bar and was treated to a wondrous sight.  Unfortunately, once again, I failed to take photos because the woman in question was seated directly across from me, about eight feet away.  It only occurred to me later that my pal, Melissa, and I could’ve pretended we were photographing ourselves with my phone while sneakily snapping a photo of her.  What can I say?  I was, after all, drinking wine.

But I’ll do my best to paint a picture for you.  I first caught sight of her from behind.  She was a tall, naturally curly redhead wearing a silky, very short – if she’d bent over I’d have billed her insurance company for a gynecological exam – lingerie-inspired dress with a lace hem and v-neckline.  Around her neck was a long, silk scarf of almost the exact color as the dress.

What caught my attention, though, was what was on her feet.  Actually, what was on her legs: suede, thigh-high boots.  In Austin.  TexasIn mother-freakin’ July.  It was hot. And not in a good way.

Now, I have to tell you this woman had fantastic legs and the boots – and dress – looked A-MAZING on her.  But, even though we were indoors, in air-conditioning, the mere sight of those suede, thigh-high boots raised my core body temperature several degrees.  Again, not in a good way.

Then she turned around.  Chick was easily mid- to late-50s.  Hell, she could’ve been 60, for all I know.  And she was working that dress like you wouldn’t believe.  Age appropriate?  Maybe not.  But so what?  If we all start dressing our age, we’ll be expected to act our age, too, and I’m not down with that at all.  She rocked that outfit and I say “Brava!”

Still.  I’d have ditched those boots.

About Felicia Biggins

I'm a fashion blogger and owner of The New Black, a personal styling business, in Austin TX. Follow me on Twitter: @fbigg.
This entry was posted in IMHO and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

