Better Late Than Never – Colored Denim

I’m nothing if not persistent.

All summer I’ve searched for the right pair of brightly hued jeans – a big trend this year.  I tried on countless pairs of yellow, blue, orange and green denim in an assortment of styles: high-waisted, straight, boyfriend and even, God help me, jeggings.  But none of them fit me in a way that was flattering.  I almost gave up.

Then I found these bright red skinnies at that Ann Taylor Loft sale a few weeks ago.  I’ve been test-driving them on the down low but now I’m ready for a public viewing.

This short-sleeved, neon yellow and white tailored blouse from New York & Co is an appropriately bright accompaniment.

But I chose a neutral belt and platform wedges to keep this look from visually spinning out of control.  I mean, there’s colorful and there’s “Oh wow – I can totally see you with my eyes closed.”

Moral of the story?  Persistence pays off.  Which, I know, sounds like something you’d read on a cheesy motivational poster with a picture of a tortoise arduously making its way back to the ocean.  Or the message in a fortune cookie, after which you’d add “in bed” like the 12-year-old boy we are all capable of being on any given day (maybe it’s just me?).  It’s still true!

About Felicia Biggins

I'm a fashion blogger and owner of The New Black, a personal styling business, in Austin TX. Follow me on Twitter: @fbigg.
This entry was posted in Daily outfits, How To's, Trends and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Better Late Than Never – Colored Denim

  1. Erin says:

    I’ve been on a similar search, but haven’t found anything yet.

    And I know I said this before, but I’m still loving your hair!

    • Keep looking – the trend continues through the fall and winter. It seems everyone has them (everyone!) but the trick is finding the fit most flattering to your body.

      There wasn’t even a “getting used to it” phase with my new ‘do. Instant love! 🙂

Leave a Reply

