Fear of Fashion Failure

There’s a snarky little voice inside all our heads that helpfully informs and reminds us what we cannot do.

I still remember the time that voice spoke so loudly I’d swear an actual person was attached to it.  It was during my first half marathon and it was saying “You can’t finish this race.  Let’s stop at 8 or 9.  Yeah, let’s stop at 8.  Surely, someone will come get you.”

I didn’t listen then and I make every effort not to listen to it when it says anything else because that “helpful” little voice is a liar.  Always.  Every time.  Without fail.

This year I wanted to push myself a little.  I made – and met – athletic goals and even managed to score a couple of medals along the way.  I made – and am meeting – some fashion goals, too.  I usually don’t wear bold prints but I’ve rocked some bold prints.  I usually don’t wear bright colors and I’ve been ALL OVER that trend.  That little voice said I was a fashion minimalist and that prints and bright colors weren’t “me”.  The voice is bulls**t.

So when it says “Oh, you can’t pull off (fill in the blank)!”  Don’t listen to it.  Don’t let fear of fashion failure keep you from experimenting with something new.  Try it.  Even if you only in the safety of a store’s dressing room…or your bedroom.  Yes, maybe you’ll strike out.  As a wise woman I spoke to recently said “So what?!” But don’t let that snarky little voice tell you what you cannot do.

Because there’s another possible outcome: maybe you’ll knock it (and that voice!) out of the park.   And that, my friends, is worth the risk of failure.

About Felicia Biggins

I'm a fashion blogger and owner of The New Black, a personal styling business, in Austin TX. Follow me on Twitter: @fbigg.
This entry was posted in IMHO, Trends and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

