Missoni…finally

It was about a year ago that Missoni designed a line of goods for Target. I wrote of my excitement about owning a small piece from the venerable Italian design house. Alas, a nationwide horde of e-Bay aficionados wiped out Target’s inventory before I could get to the store after work on launch day. I also wrote about my disappointment and sincere hope that none of those killjoys made any money off their “ill-gotten gains”.

Well, Sunday afternoon I had the chance to see the Missoni spring/summer 2013 collection in person.

I’ve never been to a major fashion week runway show so I felt like a kid on her first trip to FAO Schwartz! My eyes tried, but surely failed, to take in every detail. First, there was the traffic jam of cars and limos full of attendees trying to get to the show. We parked a few blocks away so avoided the worst of it.

Next was the scrum (a rugby term, but it’s accurate) of people waiting to get in. Beefy bodyguards made sure everyone entering had invitations in our hot little hands and we were surrounded on all sides by varying degrees of fabulousness.

Once on the grounds, we stood taking iPhone photos like a couple of tourists. I didn’t care – these people will probably never see me again so I couldn’t be bothered about how gauche I might’ve appeared. In other words, I was a photo-snapping fool. And I was very excited to see a fashion legend: Hamish Bowles, Vogue editor-at-large, waiting along with the rest of us.

Inside we found a good vantage point in a standing section and waited for the show to begin. The thumping soundtrack started and a parade of stick-thin models strutted down the catwalk wearing the Missoni spring/summer line. The line was beautiful, ethereal, fun, sexy. And over in about 8 minutes. I might be overestimating.

Next up: D-Squared!

20120923-220823.jpg

20120923-221011.jpg

20120923-221039.jpg

20120923-221101.jpg

20120923-221133.jpg

20120923-221150.jpg

About Felicia Biggins

I'm a fashion blogger and owner of The New Black, a personal styling business, in Austin TX. Follow me on Twitter: @fbigg.
This entry was posted in Fashion News and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

